Honest Mom Wednesday or Thursday – Finding Peace

Finding Peace

Finding Peace

Yep, I’m posting Honest Mom Wednesday on Thursday because that’s just how life rolls sometimes.

I need some peace in my life. My house is constantly noisy. Having three boys is awesome but sometimes I just want to hide (ok, runaway) from the noises, the messes and fighting. Parenting is bittersweet. There are moments that you treasure forever and others you feel like you need be placed in a mental hospital. I go back and forth between both multiple times each week. I just need some peace. I am trying hard to find that in Jesus right now. On top of the craziness happening in our home daily, I am also faced with all that is happening with politics here in the USA. I’m leaning towards being placed in a mental hospital at this point. There is uproar, anger, hate, fighting, pointing fingers (and that’s just in my house each week – ok, the boys really don’t hate each other) but seriously, I am surrounded by chaos. I just need some peace. What does God have to say about peace? Here are some verses that stood out to me.

“Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.”

        Psalm 34:14

“Love and faithfulness meet together; righteousness and peace kiss each other.”

   Psalm 85:10

“A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.”

 Proverbs 14:30

“He will proclaim peace to the nations. His rule will extend from sea to sea and from the River to the ends of the earth.”

 Zechariah 9:10

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives.                          Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

 John 14:27

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

    John 16:33

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”      

Galations 5:22

“They must turn from evil and do good; they must seek peace and pursue it.”

     1 Peter 3:11

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.”

    Matthew 5:9

Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness.”

 James 3:18

What does it mean to be a peacemaker? In our world today how are we called to bring peace? It sounds like it is something that God desires for us. My favorite verse is John 16:33, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  As I process what peace looks like in my life right now I am encouraged that Jesus has overcome the world and we need to put our hope in that. We need to find our peace in Jesus.

How are some ways that you find peace amidst the chaos in your life and the world around you?

 

Leave a comment