Honest Mom Wednesday

Election Response

Election Response

I wasn’t too excited to write this blog today. Following election day is not fun. My personal response to this election – whether Trump or Hillary would be the same. I’m not going into politics. I feel like we have had enough of that. It is what it is and so my response is going to be one that glorifies God. 

What does the God of humanity say to us, as His dearly loved people.

“Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” Romans 12:12

PRAY – pray for our leaders. God hears our prayers and in the process of praying our own hearts and faith change to be more like God’s heart. Oh how I desire to have a heart that reflects the God of the Universe.

“But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let  nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” 1 Corinthians 15:57-58

WORK – work for the glory of God. Do what He has called you to and do it with passion, conviction, and give life to others in the process.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

HOPE – Jesus is my hope. He has overcome the world and all of its craziness. I will never lose hope because my hope is in Jesus not in a man or woman running our nation. People will always fail you, Jesus never will.

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

DO NOT FEAR – He has it all under control. He calls us to not fear but to trust Him and His overall plan for humanity. He is with us. He will help us and uphold us. That’s awesome and great news.

 

Two things Todd and I teach our kiddos – Love God and love others. So simple yet so hard at times. Part of loving others well is just being kind. In our house we have a sign that says, “Be Kind or Be Quiet.” Yep, that pretty much sums it up. Take responsibility for you. If you can’t say something kind please don’t say anything at all. If what comes out of your mouth causes division rather than unity – just don’t say it. You may be  unhappy with the results of this election so choose today how you are going to respond. How you respond affects others.

As I move forward today I am choosing to respond in prayer for our nations leaders. I will continue working for the glory of God. My hope is in Jesus alone, not in a man or woman leading our country.  I will not fear anything in life for God is with me.

How are you choosing to respond today? How is God asking you to respond? Today is a great time to ask Him how He is calling you to respond. Write it down and share it with others.

“For the Lord is the great God, the great King above all gods. In his hand are the depths the earth, and the mountain peaks belong to him. This sea is his, for he made it, and his hands formed the dry land. 

Come, let us bow down in worship, let us feel before the Lord our Maker; for he is our God and we are the people of his pasture, the flock under his care.”PSALM 95:3-7

 

 

 

Leave a comment